Decreasing the Size of a Volume

You can decrease the reported size of a volume. This is called shrinking a volume.

Notes: Be careful when decreasing the size of a volume. It is possible to decrease volume space to less than what is currently being used.

Snapshot reserve, local replication reserve, and replica reserve are based on a percentage of the volume reserve. (For a standard volume, the volume reserve is the same as the reported size; for a thin-provisioned volume, the volume reserve is less than or equal to the reported size.) Therefore, when a volume size is decreased, these reserves may also be decreased, unless the reduction will result in the deletion of snapshots. In this case, the snapshot reserve and local replication reserve will be set to a percentage that is sufficient to retain the existing snapshots. An event message will be generated if this occurs.

To decrease the size of a volume, you must use the Group Manager command line interface (CLI). See the volume shrink command in the CLI Reference for more information.