You are here: PS Series CLI Reference > Group Management Commands > pool
Manages pools in the group. The storage in a group can be organized into one to four pools. A pool is comprised of the storage space from the members that are assigned to the pool.
A member can be assigned only to one pool at a time. Unless otherwise specified, a member is assigned to the default pool (by default, named default). If you delete a pool, the members in the pool are automatically moved to the default pool.
When you create a volume, you can assign it to a specific pool, if desired. Otherwise, the volume will be located in the default pool.
As needed, you can remove a member or volume from a pool and assign it to a different pool. However, these operations can be lengthy because the data movement will compete with user I/O for computational and network bandwidth.
You can also merge one pool into another pool.
Note: Only one member or volume at a time can be moved into or out of a pool, unless you are merging one pool into another.
Format
pool subcommand
Subcommands
|
create |
Creates a pool. |
|
delete |
Deletes a pool. |
|
merge |
Moves the members and volumes assigned to one pool into another pool and deletes the empty pool. |
|
rename |
Renames a pool. |
|
select |
Displays or modifies a pool or displays details about a pool. |
|
show |
Displays all the pools in the group. |