You are here: PS Series CLI Reference > Group Management Commands > save-config
Allows you to save the group configuration to a file and use the information to restore a group in the event of a complete group failure.
Note: The save-config command does not restore volume data.
To restore a group, you must have the same number of members as existed in the group prior to the failure; otherwise, you must edit the save-config file to customize the new group configuration.
The save-config command generates a restoration file, by default named config.cli, which contains the CLI commands needed to recreate the group and saves the file on an array. Use ftp or scp to copy the file from the array to a host for safe-keeping (as described in diag). However, on the ftp open command line, be sure to specify the group IP address.
The save-config command can be run in default or group-only mode. In default mode, the resulting file will automatically restore the following:
If you specify the save-config command with the -grouponly parameter, member and pool configuration information will be saved as comments instead of commands, so you must manually restore these parts of the configuration. A member’s RAID level and pool must be configured before you can use the storage.
The save-config -grouponly command will not restore the basic member network configuration or the group configuration, but it will save this information as comments in the restoration file. The following information must be manually supplied to each member by running the setup utility:
Note: A save-config file may not be able to successfully restore a member that is running a firmware version that is different from the firmware that was running on the array that generated the restoration file.
Format
saveconfig [-verbose] [-grouponly] [file_name]
Parameter
|
-verbose |
Specifies verbose mode; commands saved in the file are also displayed on-screen. |
Variable
|
file_name |
Name of file to which the group configuration will be saved, up to 256 characters. If a file name is not specified, the file default name is config.cli. The file is not time-stamped; it is overwritten each time you run the command. It is recommended that you use a unique file name so you can easily identify the restoration file for a group. |
Examples
The following command saves the group configuration to a specified file name:
> save-config group23rest.cli
configuration saved to group23rest.cli
You can retrieve the file using ftp or scp.
The following command saves the group configuration to the default file name with member and pool information commented out:
> save-config -grouponly
configuration saved to config.cli
You can retrieve the file using ftp or scp.
To restore a group, follow these steps:
exec -echo -ignore ../mgtdb/update/file_name
For example:
> exec -echo -ignore ../mgtdb/update/group23rest.cli