On each of the Options tabs except for the Filter Rules section, the Restore Defaults button resets any changes you have made to your user preferences, to the default system settings that were in effect when you first logged in to your new Zimbra account. You must click Save in order to commit these changes.
This re-set feature does not affect changes to passwords.