Advanced features can be enabled from either the COS or the Account. The account inherits the COS features, but accounts can override the COS feature configurations.
The advanced features are listed below.
Feature |
Description |
|
Disable attachment viewing from Webmail UI |
If checked, attachments cannot be viewed. This can also be set as a global setting. |
|
Enable attachment indexing |
Attachments are indexed, which allows the attachment to be included in searches. |
|
Attachments can be viewed in HTML only |
Messages received in another format are opened in HTML view. |
|
Attachments can be viewed in their original format only |
|
|
Attachments may be viewed in HTML and their original format |
Users can select to open either in the original format or as HTML. |
|
Account quota |
Mailbox size limit in megabytes (MB). This is the assigned limit of disk space an account can use on the mailbox server. When the mailbox reaches the assigned limit, messages cannot be delivered. The default is 0, which means unlimited. This means users could use all the disk space on the server. |
|
Address book size limit |
The maximum number of entries a user can have in their personal contacts list. The default is 0 (no limit). |
|
|
|
|
Minimum password length Maximum password length |
This specifies the required length of a password. The minimum length is 6 characters. The maximum length is 64 characters. |
|
Minimum password age Maximum password age |
Configuring a minimum and maximum password age sets the password expiration date. Users can change their passwords at any time between the minimum and maximum set. they must change it when the maximum password age is reached.
|
|
|
|
|
Minimum upper case characters |
Upper case A - Z |
|
Minimum lower case characters |
Lower case a - z |
|
Minimum punctuation symbols |
Non-alphanumeric, for example !, $, #, % |
|
Minimum numeric characters |
Base 10 digits 0 - 9 |
|
Minimum number of unique passwords history |
Number of unique new passwords that a user must create before he can reuse an old password. The default is 0 (no limit). |
|
Password locked |
If this is enabled, users cannot change their password. This should be enabled, if the authentication is external. |
|
Email message lifetime |
Number of days an email can remain in any folder before it is automatically purged. The default is 0, email messages are not deleted. |
|
Trashed message lifetime |
Number of days an email can remain in the trash folder before it is automatically purged. The default is 30 days. |
|
Spam message lifetime |
Number of days an email can remain in the Junk folder before it is automatically purged. The default is 30 days. |
|
Auth token lifetime |
This feature sets how long an auth token is valid for. The default is 2 days. If users check "remember me" on the log on page, when they quit their browser they will not have to log on again until the time expires or the session is timed out. |
|
Session idle timeout |
This sets how long a user session remains active if no activity occurs on the email client. Activity includes any clickable mouse action, such as viewing contents or folder or clicking a button. |
|
|
|
|
Enabled failed login lockout |
When this box is checked, the "failed login lockout" feature is enabled and you can configure the following settings. |
|
Number of consecutive failed logins allowed. |
The number of failed login attempts before the account is locked out. the default s 10 attempts. If this is set to 0, an unlimited number of failed login attempts are allowed. This means the account is never locked out. |
|
Time to lockout the account |
The amount of time in seconds, minutes, hours, or days the account is locked out. If this is set to 0, the account is locked out until the correct password is entered, or the administrator manually changes the account status and creates a new password. The default is 1 hour. |
|
Time window in which the failed logins must occur within to lock the account |
The duration of time in seconds, minutes, hours, or days after which the number of consecutive failed login attempts is cleared from the log. The default is 0, the user can continue attempts to authenticate, no matter how many consecutive failed login attempts have occurred. |
|
|
|