You are here: PS Series Group Administration > Advanced Replication > Recovering Data on the Secondary Group > Demoting a Recovery Volume to an Inbound Replica Set
To return a recovery volume to the original inbound replica set, you can demote the recovery volume.
If changes were made to the recovery volume, before demoting the recovery volume, you can replicate the changes to the primary group and synchronize the groups. If the failback snapshot exists on the primary group, only the volume changes need to be replicated. Otherwise, the first replication will transfer the entire volume contents.
You can replicate any changes before demoting the recovery volume, or you can choose the option to automatically fail back the changes before the demotion. You will be given the opportunity to configure replication on the volume if it is not already configured. Before you can replicate changes, the original volume must be demoted to a failback replica set, as described in Demoting a Volume to a Failback Replica Set.
To demote a recovery volume to an inbound replica set, follow these steps:
Figure 20: Demote Recovery Volume
If you chose to fail back the changes, and the recovery volume has changed and is configured for replication, a replica will be created on the primary group. This will take some time, depending on the data that must be transferred. Then, the recovery volume will be demoted to an inbound replica set.
If you chose to fail back the changes, and the recovery volume has changed but is not configured for replication, a message appears asking if you want to configure replication before continuing (Figure 21: Demote Recovery Volume - Configure Replication ).
Figure 21: Demote Recovery Volume - Configure Replication
Click Yes to display the Configure Volume Replication dialog boxes, as described in Configuring a Volume or Volume Collection for Replication. Once you configure replication, a replica will be created automatically. Then, the recovery volume will be demoted to an inbound replica set.
Click No to skip configuring the volume for replication. The recovery volume will be demoted to a replica set and the volume changes will be lost.
If you chose not to fail back the changes, but the recovery volume was changed, a message appears asking if you want to discard the changes (Figure 22: Demote Recovery Volume - Discard Changes ).
Figure 22: Demote Recovery Volume - Discard Changes
Click Yes to discard the volume changes and demote the recovery volume.
Click No to cancel the demote operation. You can then configure replication on the volume and fail back the changes to the primary group.
When a recovery volume is demoted, it will disappear from the list of volumes and the replica set will appear in the list of inbound replica sets.